Is rock for rebels?

Warning: I’m just playing here so nothing really is worth reading here unless you insist.


Prompt: Think about an event you’ve attended and loved. Your hometown’s annual fair. That life-changing music festival. A conference that shifted your worldview. Imagine you’re told it will be cancelled forever or taken over by an evil corporate force. How does that make you feel?

Twist: Write in your own voice.


Me: I feel nothing. Nada. Zero. Wala. How do I feel when I cannot even think of any event that I’m attached to.

But I’ll still try to answer though there’s really nothing to squeeze. I’ll just try to make sense of this prompt.

Let’s just focus on music events. Yes, I attended concerts before but I can always listen to bands or musicians in the internet without even downloading anything. Sometimes, I feel like going to gigs. Other times, it’s enough for me to just seat in front of the computer and watch or listen to artists alone. If you ask me if I don’t like crowds, I’ll say that I’m ambivalent towards the crowds. I like crowds because they add energy in the actual performance and I don’t like crowds when I feel disturbed by their presence. Anyway, it’s the performer I’m after. Maybe it’s because I aspired before and I admit I still continue to aspire, just in my wildest dreams of course, to perform in a band.

Yes, I listen to rock; it’s the music for misfits like me. They say rock is for rebellious ones. I thought I was a rebel but I am not. Maybe because they hear some vocalists singing like they are writhing in the toilet. Maybe because these songwriters got the inspiration of the song in the toilet. Some rock songs start soft then turns louder. Maybe because they got the inspiration when they just got up in bed or they cannot sleep that they want to break the silence of the night. To answer my question, some rock musicians are rebels but not all are like them. Rock music and the musicians themselves are interesting to study.

I hope one day I can attend a performance of an orchestra.

Okay, I hope I made sense with that. Can’t attend these kinds of events now since I’m a poor boy and I can’t stay late at night anymore. I don’t even want to be attached so much with any events.

Oy, it turned into a free-write. Anyway, it’s not a rant, just musing.

Writing 101: Your Voice Will Find You (Assignment 15)

Leave a Reply

